Board of Directors

Interested in joining our board of directors? We are looking for individuals committed to farming, education, and food justice!  We celebrate diversity and encourage BIPOC and LGBT+ individuals to apply.
Please contact us.


Ariana Basco – Co-President & Events
Ariana came to New Paltz as a college student and fell in love with the area. After college she worked on campus as an organizer for the New York Public Interest Research Group.  She put her policy expertise and organizing skills to work in public service when she was elected to the New Paltz Village Board of Trustees. Now she works for the village as the assistant to the mayor and the village board.  Ariana is very familiar with the farm and all of its inner workings, because she worked here as the office manager from 2015 to 2017.


Alexi Bolton – Co-President
Alexi is an educator who is motivated by a belief in social and environmental justice. After 3 years as a Spanish Dual Language teacher in Brooklyn, she decided to move her classroom outdoors and become a Garden Educator. She feels there is no better place for kids to pursue their innate curiosity and natural desire to learn. Alexi fell in love with Phillies Bridge during a volunteer day and hasn’t looked back. Through her work, she hopes to explore the intersection between food production, the environment and  education, spreading the positive impacts of farming to people regardless of income or geographic location.

Jim Longbotham – Vice President
Jim has been working as a teacher in New Paltz for the past 26 years with a specific interest in environmental education.  He coordinated the construction of an organic “Green Classroom” garden at his school as well as yearly Pumpkin Fests and Health and Wellness Fairs.  He has a special connection to Phillies Bridge Farm as he laid out and constructed the Nature Trail with the help of a fabulous group of volunteers over a decade ago.  In his free time Jim enjoys hiking, canoe camping, biking and making rustic furniture.

Chelsea Farley – Secretary
Chelsea is the Director of Communications for the Research Alliance for NYC Schools, an independent research center housed at NYU. She has consulted for a wide variety of nonprofit organizations and collaborated with many leading foundations, as well as some of the country’s largest and most well respected social programs. Chelsea has written and edited numerous influential papers and reports, focused largely on education and youth development, employment, and broad issues related to program evaluation.


Brian Obach, PhD – Events
Brian is a Professor of Sociology and Director of Environmental Studies at the SUNY New Paltz. He is the author of the book
Organic Struggle in addition to other writings on agriculture and the environmental movement.  He joined the board in 2017, was elected secretary in 2018 and as co-president in 2019.


Terence P. Ward 
Terence is a journalist who decided to join the Phillies Bridge CSA because of their food justice work. He has worked at the Winnakee Land Trust, which allowed him to develop a comfort level with the vocabulary and processes of conservation easements, and has served on both of the planning boards serving the New Paltz community. Photo credit: Lauren Thomas


Kathleen Hunt – Food Justice
Katie is an assistant professor of environmental communication at SUNY New Paltz, where she researches and teaches about communication and sustainable food systems. She is an ardent and active food justice advocate, with almost 10 years experience working with anti-hunger, farm-to-pantry, farmers markets, and other food access initiatives.


Lisa Tse-Congelosi – Incoming Treasurer
Lisa Lisa joined Phillies Bridge because she wanted to get involved in the Hudson Valley Community. She believes that Phillies Bridge’s three pillars, food justice, education, and farming are very important. She is an engineer who loves personal finance. She enjoys spending time with family and friends, hiking, baking, and cooking.


Steve Goodman – Development & Finance
Steve is a media education consultant, author, and founding director of Educational Video Center. Long committed to environmental and food justice, he brings over 35 years experience in nonprofit fundraising, finance, management, and social justice education curriculum development. In his free time he enjoys biking, hiking and playing viola in the Music Institute of Sullivan and Ulster counties orchestra.


Alexandra Lotero Vanderkam – Food Justice
Alexandra, the daughter of Latin American immigrants, was born and raised in New York City and recently moved to Shawangunk. Throughout her career, she has led projects that position young people and youth workers as change agents and narrators of their own experiences. Seeing the farm team’s focus on community leadership and food justice inspired her to join first as a shareholder and committee member, and now as a board member. A home cook, birder and yogi, you can find her pairing tropical flavors with CSA produce,  identifying birds by their songs on the Nature Trail, or finding her balance in headstand.

Honorary Trustees
Leland E. Gartrell  1927-2015
Frank Kraat
Susan Loxley-Friedle
Frederic B. Mayo
Mary H. Ottaway
James H. Ottaway, Jr.
Edith Kraat Sherman
Helen L. Vukasin 1922-2016
Sally Vasse, President Emerita